Recipe Review: Triple Berry Crisp

I’ve had a major baking itch over the past few weeks. Andrew and I made a “summer bucket list” the other day, and I’m not ashamed to say that several of the items included making different desserts. Let’s just say we’ll be having our fair share of homemade ice cream and peach cobbler.

To solve my dilemma, I decided to make  a berry crisp to take to my in-laws’ house on Friday night. Andrew and I celebrated Father’s Day with them on Friday and then headed to the lake to celebrate with my family.

We bought strawberries and blueberries last week and didn’t end up eating as many as we thought, so I wanted to find a recipe worked with what I had. I came across this recipe on allrecipes.com and was really pleased. The reviews looked good so I decided to give it a shot.

Triple Berry Crisp (makes 9 servings)

3/4 cup fresh blackberries
3/4 cup fresh raspberries
3/4 cup fresh blueberries
2 tablespoons white sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup rolled oats
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
3/4 cup butter

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, gently toss together blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, and white sugar; set aside.
  3. In a separate large bowl, combine flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Cut in butter until crumbly. Press half of mixture in the bottom of a 9×13 inch pan (I used a 9×9 inch pan). Cover with berries. Sprinkle remaining crumble mixture over the berries.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, or until fruit is bubbly and topping is golden brown.

Instead of using three different types of fruit like the recipe calls for, I just used the strawberries and blueberries I had on hand (2 1/8 cup of each fruit).  I guess my dessert should have been called Double Berry Crisp, but it turned out great and was super easy to make.  If you want to make more or less servings, you can easily adjust the recipe on allrecipes.com (the original recipe made 18 servings).

photo

Doesn’t this fruit look so yummy? I snapped this before I mixed it with the crumble part.

Other than eating yummy dessert, Andrew and I also got to relax by the lake, catch up on some reading, and spend time with both of our families for Father’s Day. It was so nice and I’m not quite ready for the weekend to be over.

IMG_2446

Here’s a picture of me and my dad from our wedding. He’s taught me so much and I’m thankful to be like him in so many ways. Happy Father’s Day Dad!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

