Recipe Review: Cake Batter Ice Cream

As I sat down to write this post, I realized that Andrew and I have had homemade ice cream the past four weekends in the row. We only made it two of those four weekends and had it at family get togethers the other two weekends. I told you my craving for ice cream is out of control in the summer.

We made Cake Batter Ice Cream a few weekends ago and it was so good. Some people think Cake Batter Ice Cream is too sweet, but fortunately I don’t share those feelings. I found this recipe on food.com and made a few adjustments that I’ve included in italics below.

Cake Batter Ice Cream

10 1/2 cup servings

1 cup whole milk, well chilled
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 cups heavy cream, well chilled (Instead of using 2 cups heavy cream and 1 cup whole milk, I just used 3 cups of half and half)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2/3 cup cake mix (I used Duncan Hines Funfetti)

Optional: Funfetti frosting

Place freezer bowl of ice cream maker into the freezer. In a medium bowl, whisk the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla to taste. Stir in cake mix, making sure there are no lumps. Pour mixture into the freezer bowl and let mix until it has thickened (about 25-30 minutes). Remove ice cream from freezer bowl and place into a separate container.* Place  ice cream in the freezer to further harden.

*Note: I decided to add in little pieces of frozen Funfetti frosting to the ice cream right before I put the ice cream in a separate container. While the ice cream was freezing in the ice cream maker, I put some frosting in a Ziploc bag , piped it on a baking sheet, and popped it in the freezer for half an hour. Once the ice cream was done, I got the frozen pieces off the baking sheet with a spatula and gently stirred them in before putting everything in a freezer to harden a little more.

Cake-batter-Ice-Cream-Photo

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

