Weekend Recap (I Love Greenville)

I don’t know why, but this past weekend was one of those weekends that reminds me why I love Greenville so much. Andrew was in Atlanta all week last week for his job, so we decided to lay low this past weekend since he had been gone and knew he would be tired when he got back.  When he got home on Friday night,  we popped a frozen pizza in the oven (gourmet, I know) and then drove to get a little treat at Sno Hut. If you aren’t familiar with Sno Hut, it’s literally a little snow cone hut in the middle of a parking lot on Wade Hampton. They probably have around 50 flavors, and the best part is that it was only $3.50 for both of us to eat.

After our gourmet pizza dinner, we (me) got on a cooking kick and decided we wanted to make fresh pasta the next day. We quickly realized how much work that would be without a pasta maker (rolling the dough, cutting eat individual piece, etc.), so we thought it would be a better idea to buy some fresh pasta at the TD Saturday Market. I also tried my hand at French Macarons on Saturday, but I’ll save that for another post. Hint: it didn’t turn out so well.

On Saturday morning, we got up and went to the market downtown.  Every time I go to the market, I always wonder why I don’t go more often. We both bought breakfast at one of the booths, and then picked some fresh green beans and black pepper pasta from Naked Pasta for dinner. 

Farmers Markt

My mom and sister met me at our house on Saturday and the three of us walked downtown to get some ice cream with our sweet little lab Kinley. It was pretty hot, so the ice cream was the perfect way to break up the walk there are back.

Kinley-in-park

Kinley likes to pretend she’s a lap dog, but it’s our fault too since we don’t exactly discourage it…

Andrew and I started working on dinner shortly after I got back. I found a  recipe on SimplyRecipes.com for this Shrimp Pasta with Lemon Cream Sauce and was really pleased with how it turned out. I used a little less heavy whipping cream to cut back on the calories, and it still came out good and wasn’t too rich. I paired it with these Garlic-Lemon Green Beans from CooksIllustrated.com and some toasted bread.

Fresh-Pasta-Finished

Not the best picture, but it tasted wonderful! Will definitely make it again!

Is it bad that I’m already excited/ready for this coming weekend? We’re heading to the lake and hoping for lots of sunshine! I can’t believe summer is almost over – it’s gone by so fast.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipe

Leave a Reply

