The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

We may or may not have already gotten our Christmas tree.

I know, I know, it’s not even Thanksgiving yet. I hear you and I get it. I’m not normally someone who goes all out for Christmas before Thanksgiving, but I’m also not a scrooge who bans all Christmas music until the day after Thanksgiving. I wasn’t even planning on getting a tree until this coming weekend.

And then I started to think about how everyone else is going to be getting their tree this weekend.

And how it’s going to be crowded and the trees might be picked over.

And the traffic will be terrible.

And then I started thinking about decorating.

All these things led to us loading up in the car and going to pick out a tree. No, we didn’t make a little day trip out of it and go to the mountains to pick out/cut down our tree – I didn’t even start wanting a tree until about 2:30pm yesterday. Instead we went to Lowe’s. Not quite as cute nor romantic, but their trees were priced well and we were able to pick up all our other supplies in one trip.  

In my defense, Thanksgiving had already come and gone this time last year, so technically, I didn’t buy it that early since Thanksgiving is so late this year. And we don’t have all our decorations up. I’m decorating little by little. The lights and ribbon are on the tree, but I still have a lot of my fall decorations out. 

I’ve really been looking forward to our first married Christmas together. I’ve been enjoying the season of “firsts” since we got married in April. It’s so fun to be able to start our own family traditions that will hopefully be passed down from year to year. 

Let the one month countdown until Christmas begin!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

