Wedding Wednesday: Videography

Since we’ve been married a year now, I thought I would start doing a few more wedding posts here and there. Makes sense, right? Better late than never.

Let’s talk videography. After getting our video, my parents agreed that videography was the best wedding investment they made. When we started making our wedding budget, I wasn’t sure if videography was absolutely necessary. It’s no secret that weddings are expensive, so every single dollar counts. However, after getting our video back, I was so thankful we decided to keep it in the budget. Yes, photography is important too of course, but watching your wedding come to life in a video is a completely different experience.

It was so fun being able to re-live our wedding day when we watched it for the first time. I realized that there were lots of little details that I didn’t notice on my wedding day because there was so much going on.

I saw my friends having a blast while dancing together.

I saw all the beautiful strung lights and chandeliers at our reception venue.

I saw Andrew get down on his knees and dance with our flower girl (I do remember this, but it’s such a sweet moment to be able to watch again).

I saw the faces of our wedding party as the stood on the stage at the church and watched us say “I do.”

I saw my brother and cousin/ringbearer goofing off in between taking pictures.

I got to hear sweet words and congratulations from the short “interview” clips done with our wedding party.

I saw long-time friends and family watch us and smile as we did our first dance.

I saw my brother drag my mom out into the middle of a circle on the dance floor and crazily spin her around, and then drag both my aunt and my great aunt out and do the same thing.

I saw couples that have been married for 50+ years, including my sweet grandparents, sway together on the dance floor.

I loved being be able to watch my wedding through someone else’s lens (pun intended).

Another benefit of having a videographer is being able to share your wedding day with guests that couldn’t make it. Andrew’s grandparents are older and live far away, so they weren’t physically able to travel to be at our wedding. When we visited last summer, we were able to watch our wedding video with them.

We watched our video a few weeks ago on our anniversary. Leading up to our anniversary, I was so excited to watch our wedding video together and reminisce about the day. I look forward to watching it in years to come, and it will be kind of cool to show our kids one day, too.

If you’re in the Carolinas and looking for a videographer, I highly recommended Carlisle Videography . Drew and Ashley make a great team and they exceeded all of our expectations. They gave us a trailer to share with friends and family online, but we also got a two hour DVD that includes our ceremony, scenes from the reception, interviews with Andrew and I, kind words from friends and family, and more.

Here’s the link to our trailer: http://vimeo.com/65737806

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Wedding

Leave a Reply

