Weekend at HOME!

The saying is true – there’s no place like home. We’ve been in and out-of-town a good bit these past few weeks, so it was so nice to spend this past weekend in Greenville. Don’t get me wrong – I love to be on-the-go and am excited to continue our travels over the next two weeks, but there’s nothing like sleeping in on a Saturday morning in your own bed.

On Friday night, Andrew and I took advantage of our first free weekend night in a while and went on a date to The Lazy Goat. It’s been quite some time since we’ve eaten there, and it did not disappoint. The Lazy Goat has a tapas menu and regular entrees, and for the first time ever, I convinced Andrew to order our dinner off the tapas menu. Andrew isn’t a fan of tapas food because he thinks you don’t get to eat as much since you’re ordering small plates. I’ve tried to convince him that you actually order more plates since they are smaller (and cheaper) and end up eating just as much, but he didn’t believe me until after we came home with leftovers on Friday night. We ordered the Harissa Spiced Hummus, Moroccan Lamb, Truffle Pomme Frites, and the Duck Duck Goat pizza. I think the pizza was our favorite, but everything was delicious. I’m hoping Andrew has a different perspective on tapas now.

On Saturday night we celebrated my brother’s wedding with extended family. It was the perfect little low-key cookout, which is what Katie and Mitchell wanted. I volunteered to make the dessert. I recently got 6″ cake pans, so I decided to make two different 6″ cakes. For the first cake, I made a triple chocolate cake with mocha buttercream, and the other cake was a blueberry cake with lemon cream cheese icing. They both tasted delicious, but I learned that buttercream icing holds up much better in the South Carolina heat than cream cheese icing.

Kmreception1

On Sunday afternoon I helped host a baby shower for my cousin’s wife. She has 8 more weeks to go and has the cutest little bump. It was a couples shower, so we decided to do a BBQ. My aunt made a diaper cake with cloth diapers, and it turned out great!

LSBabyShower

IMG_2732 Can’t wait to meet little Baby Banish in August!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

